I’ve Been Thinking About Christmas All Summer

I do Music stuff so little , I feel that I always have to preface with the fact that I’m not very good at it.  I can’t reference bands to other bands and name techniques all that well. So these will be very short impressions.

Battles

Gloss Drop, 2011

High energy and driving, rewarding if you can keep up with or match the enthusiasm here.

Bon Iver

Bon Iver, 2011

Did not care for their 2008 debut as it was boring but I haven’t listened to it since then so I might like it better now.  By comparison this seems better produced, maybe more produced. The instrumentals are more lush and play along better to the cadence of the vocals better.  The last track is my favorite, a balls-out  adult contemporary Peter Cetera jam.

The 1900s

Return of the Century, 2010

Apparently this is a revamped version of the line-up.  I’ve only listened to bits of their 2007 debut material and this seems to maintain the same Belle & Sebastian-style with maybe the lyrics being a bit more subversive here. I’m a sucker for upbeat songs about being sad, what can I say?

Shabazz Palaces

Black Up, 2011

I can 100% understand why people like this. It’s very well-constructed lo-fi Hip Hop. But I just can’t put any skin into the game here and so can only respect what it accomplishes.

Okkervil River

I Am Very Far, 2011

I was really anticipating this from the moment it was announced and it was pretty locked in for my album of the year at that point. Good thing it is actually Okkervil River’s best, most-cohesive as a whole, and successfully but not alienatingly experimental album. The high points are the highest they’ve reached, there are no low points, every song is progressive and hooky.  Good fucking work, man.

-Daniel Von Egidy, 2011

2 thoughts on “I’ve Been Thinking About Christmas All Summer

Leave a Reply

