The Girl Talk Concert Show

1.  So last week the mash-up mega dj Girl Talk came to town and I attended said event.

2.  I really quite enjoyed it once it got going and the crowd really did too which is saying something because Charlotte crowds can be very constrained.

3.  I read that Girl Talk’s on-the-spot mashing is kept to a small amount, a rehearsed show with a bit of freedom for innovation and a lower chance of, I guess, bad mashing.  If I could remember where I read it I’d link it. Sorry.

4. That said it seemed like he was experimenting ALOT during the show, 95% of the material seemed to be new or re-mashed, different songs from the album mashed against other songs from the album.

5.  He mostly stuck with All Day and Feed the Animals as his basis.

6.  Some of the mixes worked very well quite a few did not.  By that I mean it wasn’t up to Girl Talk standard.  I say that understanding that the Girl Talk standard comes from two years of meticulous work and so how could it be as good spur of the moment.  Anyway that just makes it really good DJ-ing.

******************************

Deviation!

Let’s talk about All Day for a second.  This is Girl Talk’s longest album.  71 minutes and according to him meant to be ingested in a single sitting.  That’s a hell of a task to begin with.  Ingesting any Girl Talk album in a single sitting is very tiring.  It may also be missing the point?  It’s not the forest were here to see it’s the trees?  That sounds like the right metaphor.  Because were not here to take in the breadth, it’s not the scope that matters to us, though it can be admired.  No matter what All Day can’t be seen as a single song, an opus of many many many many many many many movements.  And not because it’s not good enough for it (it is HIS music, he MADE this, he COMPOSED this) but it’s so hard to reconcile a whole from the parts.  It’s all about the little things when it comes to a Girl Talk album. The transitions.  And here they get a little ignored for longer cuts, stretchier mash-ups longer chances for something to work or to not work.  On Night Ripper and Feed the Animals there were several times I wished a certain cut would’ve lasted longer but having had that wished fulfilled on All Day it’s better that they didn’t.  The taste is the best thing.

That’s not to say I didn’t like All Day.  I like it quite a lot and there is plenty to pick apart and chew on and the long cuts that DO work (and a cut that works for me may not work for others, it’s very subjective) work very well and stand as his finest work.   I would say that some whittling down is in order for next time and 3 minute song seems harder to me than a  minute one.  Feel free to school me on any of this though everybody, I’m not a musician or a music critic I could be waaaaayyy off about all of this.

**************************************************************

7.  You can’t hear the tiny transitions in a venue the way you can in your headphones, car, wherever and so rather he seemed to have an underlying beat that played across the entire time.  Or it seemed so to me, I might be wrong, it was a big sweaty dancing time and this is all from memory.

8.  And it was a big sweaty dancing time.  That place was so fucking humid that steam was pouring out the door at the end of the show.  He (Girl Talk) was complimentary of this fact.

9.  I missed the opening band.  I had a good dinner though.

10.  Shit, Girl Talk is first and foremost party music.  Mission accomplished there from an album and live standpoint.

-Daniel Von Egidy, 2011

Leave a Reply

