Listen to… “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service”

I need to do a write up on Play Time already but I’m going to get ahead of myself a little more by throwing out another one of my favorite movies and that’s also my favorite of the James Bond series, the vastly underrated On Her Majesty’s Secret Service.

I should write about the things I’m going to write about instead of writing about the things I’m going to write about but this blog needs content and I’m not above throwing something out there and hoping to get by on aesthetics or in this case phonosthetics (I think that’s a good made up word myself.)

OHMSS had an instrumental title sequence as opposed to the radio friendly songs that had been the norm since From Russia with Love and again after.  Info here .

The other notable song in the film was “We Have All the Time in the World” Louis Armstrong’s last recorded song.  Info here.

-Daniel Von Egidy, 2010

One thought on “Listen to… “On Her Majesty’s Secret Service”

  1. Best Bond movie ever, truly emotionally twisting ending. The rare, if only, truly moving moment in a Bond film. Lazemby should have been given another shot, he played the character how Bond read in the Flemming novels. Truly, very underrated.

Leave a Reply

