You Belong in a San Diego Zoo, You’re a Nut.

Batman Inc

It really does seem like Grant Morrison’s Batman run to date has been whatever he likes in other Batman things at that moment + him.  Batman was Neal Adams Batman + Grant Morrison/Batman and Robin was The Dark Knight + Grant Morrison/Batman Inc is apparently The Brave and the Bold + Grant Morrison.  There has to be said something of the fact that he recognizes his persona is it’s own mini pop brand.  In fact that’s probably been the whole point.  But I’ve only liked it sometimes in regards to Batman and I’m expecting a similar batting average here.

Mickey Mouse by Floyd Gottfredson

I’ve read one or two adventures (reprinted on Free Comic Book Day I think?) and found them to be really enjoyable and just gorgeous.  There is something to the clean cartooning, the demand for skill so technical, you can’t hide your shortcomings in shading.  I didn’t know I wanted this till now but I sure do.

Avengers/Green Lantern Movies

I and this other guy I know are the only people we know so far who are pretty bummed by the Whedon is writing/directing news.  Joss Whedon has the magic ability of turning a short story into a long story where not a lot is happening to fill that extra time.  As for Green Lantern…I don’t care?  No.  I’m not ready to judge.  When I see a trailer I’ll consider it.

Rocketeer Anthology 

From Comic Book Resources:  “Those “decent people” include Mike Allred, Kurt Busiek, John Cassaday, Darwyn Cooke, Michael Golden, Gene Ha, Michael Kaluta, Garry Leach, Bruce Timm, Bill Willingham, and more. “Mike Allred is writing and drawing his, Kurt Busiek is writing a story for Michael Kaluta, John Cassaday and Darwyn Cooke are both writing and drawing their stories,” Dunbier said. “There will be some pin-ups by Geoff Darrow, Art Adams, Jeff Campbell, Mike Mignola, a bunch of different guys.”

That’s a hell of a line-up and only adds to my guilt I haven’t read the original stuff yet.

That Spidey news was okay.  I like those artists and Slott’s can be pretty good when he’s not in “isn’t this clever, eh? eh? eh? eh? eh?” mode.  There’s might’ve been some other stuff but a lot of it was whogivsashitreally kind of nerd crap like the Red Hulk joining the Avengers, the sort of stuff you complain about on a blog if you’re not getting laid and don’t know why or you are getting laid and your girlfriend doesn’t know you have a blog. SDCC 10 was just kind of a lot of okay that’s nice I guess good for you.

-Daniel Von Egidy, 2010

Leave a Reply

